Skip to main content

This webinar is part of ProQuest’s Quantum continuing education program; a free program covering topics that include marketing your library, negotiation skills, developing partnerships, and more. You will find the Quantum program in the Discover More Corps, an online social network for current and future librarians and information professionals.

How Libraries Can Support the Social Side of Research 

Presented by Jeffrey Lancaster, Emerging Technologies Coordinator, Science & Engineering Libraries, at Columbia University 

Many libraries are using social media platforms to better engage their patrons, but what else can libraries do to support the increasingly social nature of research?  How can libraries learn what researchers actually do? As the roles taken on by libraries evolve, librarians are being asked to take part in the professionalization of researchers, in building communities of researchers, and in facilitating the sharing and dissemination of research.  This talk will emphasize the need for agile, iterative, and ever-changing solutions and will cover various strategies we are undertaking to address these questions.


Thursday, February 27, 2014at 1:00 pm, Central Standard Time (Chicago, GMT-06:00)


Thursday, February 27, 2014at 11:00 am, Pacific Standard Time (San Francisco, GMT-08:00)

Thursday, February 27, 2014at 2:00 pm, Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00)

Thursday, February 27, 2014at 7:00 pm, GMT Time (London, GMT)

Click here to register through the Discover More Corps. 

31 Jan 2014 | Posted by Shannon Janeczek

Related Posts

Go Around the World in 60 Minutes

Attend our webinar on September 24: "An Exploration of Historical Collections for Today’s Researcher"…

Learn More

Upcoming training webinars in business and careers

ProQuest has a full lineup of webinars that are now open for registration.…

Learn More

Free Quantum webinars on library value, marketing planning, and the Common Core

ProQuest is thrilled to announce a three-part Quantum series this November and December to help libraries and information centers with marketing and advocacy.…

Learn More

Search the Blog